‘the Greek civilization also has a bright side’

Dear mister editor,

This letter regards Greece and what is said about it in the media,

I do not mean to accuse you or your newspaper about these false generalizations about my country and most importantly its citizens, I just thought that you are the correct person to address this to.

Firstly, I would like to inform you that there are three types of people living in Greece today. The rich who seem to not bother about the news since their lives haven’t changed one bit since the new law has been voted, the ones who help others by handing them goods and the rioters who try to convey their message in any way possible, including fighting against the police.

However Greeks are characterized as vandalistic by almost every media station, and I would personally like to oppose this characterization. I am a thirteen year old boy living in Greece and most importantly near the center of Athens, therefore I have a strong understanding about what is going on around me.

The center of Athens may sometimes be dangerous but not all of Greece is a battleground, there are many other calm places for one to spend his life in my country. Actually I am sure that there are a hundred times more peaceful places from the ones similar to the center of athens

Mister editor I hope you approve my message and agree with me because after all every country can experience an economic crisis but just like all other civilizations the Greek one may have its dark side but it also has its bright one.

Yours sincerely,

Max

One thought on “‘the Greek civilization also has a bright side’

  1. eirlys says:

    You are quite right, Max! Well done for pointing this our.
    I wish you all the best for your future and that of your family! You are a credit to Greece.

Leave a Reply

