Easter Reflections

A slightly belated Happy Easter to anyone celebrating last weekend! As we know, Greek Easter isn’t for another month (maybe by then it will feel like Spring?) but I wasn’t going to miss the chance to celebrate twice.

Here in Edinburgh, I decided to attend a Sunday morning Easter service at St. Giles Cathedral,which is (I believe) one of the oldest churches in Edinburgh – definitely pre-Reformation at least – and it is known for its music. The music certainly didn’t disappoint, nor did the grand surroundings, but as I listened to the organ finale and waited for tourists to file out, I found myself thinking about Easter last year, and the year before.

I have a weird habit of thinking in terms of ‘this time last year I was..’ or ‘this time next week I will be…’. I don’t know where I got this from, but I’ve been doing it for as long as I can remember, and I suppose it helps give me some perspective. At least when I embarked on that train of thought on Sunday, I was a little startled to realise where I’ve been on Easter’s past. This year, St Giles in Edinburgh. Last year, I spent (western and eastern) Easter in Jerusalem. The year before that, I went to a Sunday morning Easter service in King’s College Chapel in Cambridge (I blogged about Easter 2011 here).

I think I have yet to mention the epic two week Israel/Jordan/Palestine adventure over Easter last year – and I do intend to do some blogging about it in the future. But thinking about where I’ve spent the last three Easters made it abundantly clear how lucky I’ve been to experience the same holiday in such different and significant ways. It also made me think – I have no idea where I’ll be this time next year… but that’s part of the excitement.

We were lucky on Sunday to have a glimpse of..sun! Seems logical to hope for that on Easter, but it had snowed a little on Saturday morning, so I wasn’t optimistic. (I love Scotland, really..) I’ll include a few photos I snapped of the day – from church and brunch later on. I also thought it worth including some photos from Jerusalem last year, although these will only be a sneak peek of the trip and require a little explanation. Strictly speaking I was in Jerusalem for Western Easter, but last year it was also Palm Sunday by the Orthodox Calendar, and I attended an Orthodox Service. The strange part was that the Orthodox celebrate Palm Sunday in the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, while the Catholics celebrate Easter in the same building. More reflections on the strange amalgamation of faiths in Jerusalem to come as well, I promise.. And Cambridge photos make a brief reappearance too.

These photos are quite a weird mishmash. Life is strange.

Edinburgh, 2013

2013-03-31 11.10.43-1

2013-04-03 14.57.48

2013-03-31 11.25.42-1

2013-03-31 08.55.12

2013-04-03 14.58.33

2013-03-31 11.53.37-2

2013-03-31 11.38.28-1

Jerusalem, 2012

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cambridge, 2011

4 thoughts on “Easter Reflections

Leave a Reply

