Tinos: Isternia

During our most recent trip to Tinos in September, I didn’t take too many photos of the village, Isternia. While drafting this post, I’ve been trying to figure out how to describe my relationship to this place. First of all, my first instinct is to say ‘my’ village, although it’s certainly not. We don’t have any ancestral or family relationship to the island, let alone the village, but my aunt and uncle bought their house in Isternia right after I was born, and I’ve been coming to Tinos and staying in Isternia ever since. Since we moved when I was a kid and sold the house I lived in during high school, and then I’ve been all over the place after that, the house in Isternia is one of the few places of continuity in my semi-nomadic life. Although I wouldn’t trade any of it, it’s nice to have Isternia to come back to.

img_2982

img_2984

img_2983

img_2981

img_2985

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve posted more pictures from Tinos in 2011 here: Isternia and Tinos food and the port town!

Plus one for fun (sorry for the poor quality) – same place as the first photo, at the entrance to the village. I’m on the left πŸ™‚Β 9934_1129552885711_6957000_n

5 thoughts on “Tinos: Isternia

  1. Maria Marangos says:

    Great photography Katy ~ your connection to the island and the village truly “speaks” through the lens.

Leave a Reply

