Battleship Averoff

Warning: this post is heavy on the Greek flag, but I can’t help it, that flag was huge.

In June when my Dad was visiting, we finally visited the Balkan War-era battleship Averoff, that’s now anchored in the harbour of Faliro, a seaside suburb of Athens. It’s now a floating museum, and a trip that was well overdue for us.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

hi dad

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4 thoughts on “Battleship Averoff

  1. eirlys says:

    Thanks for these – really interesting! On three trips to Athens I have always had this on my list of things to visit, but I still haven’t got to see it. Your pics are the next best thing.
    (I also wanted to visit the war graves cemetery that you pass on the tram to Glyfada, but never saw that either except through the tram windows).
    And hey, what’s wrong with the Greek flag, it is very tasteful I think compared to the gaudier Union Jack!
    Keep posting and thanks again.

    • Ah, that cemetery is also on my list! Despite actively trying to explore, I still see most interesting things when I have visitors and a reason to be a tourist.
      This ship really is cool – worth seeing, but kind of a pain to get to. It’s full of artefacts and things inside – bad light though, so no photos, alas!

Leave a Reply

