Travelogue: Ancient Olympia in the Spring

Over the Easter holidays, my dad, my aunt & I embarked on 5 day long road trip around the Peleponnese, and set Ancient Olympia as our first destination, around three and a half hours from Athens.

Ancient Olympia
The weather may not have been perfect, but it was definitely the right time of year to be there. Not very crowded, not too hot, and amazing, amazing blooming things. I don’t know why, but I didn’t have very high expectations of this archaeological site. I wasn’t excited about the site of the Ancient Olympics? Silly me.

Ancient Olympia

Ancient Olympia

Ancient Olympia

During our trip, I used an old Blue Guide from the 1960s as our guide, and once I read more about Ancient Olympia, I (unsurprisingly) got pretty excited. From 776 BC, the Olympic Games were held every four years, with the introduction of a truce among the Greek state for the duration of the Games. They went on until the early Christian period and the reign of Roman Emperor Constantine, and the last games were held in 393 AD. There are reasons this is a world heritage site – and lucky us, we had the place almost to ourselves.

Ancient Olympia

Ancient Olympia

Ancient Olympia

Ancient Olympia

Ancient Olympia

Ancient Olympia

Ancient Olympia

Ancient OlympiaI couldn’t resist running a lap or two around the stadium… Not cliche at all… Kind of fun though.Ancient Olympia

Ancient Olympia

Ancient Olympia

Ancient Olympia

6 thoughts on “Travelogue: Ancient Olympia in the Spring

Leave a Reply

